Khumbu valley (Mera Peak)

The Khumbu Valley is also known as the Everest region that includes the Sagarmatha National Park. Khumjung and Kunde are two large villages of the Khumbu region. Mt. Khumbila (5761m.) is an attraction of the Khumbu region. In addition, Mt. Everest, Mt.Lhotse and Mt. Ama Dablam also serve as backdrop to the Khumbu Valley.

Mera Peak (6476m.) is the highest trekking peak located in the Sagarmatha Zone. It is considered as an uncomplicated ascent. The first ascent to Mera Peak was made in 1953, May 20.  The Mera Peak trek is technically a straightforward ascent. So, nowadays, trekkers sought after Mera Peak. However, adjusting in the high attitude of Mera Peak becomes a challenge for some trekkers. From the Mera Peak, splendid panorama of Makalu, Kanchanjunga, Cho Oyu and Everest can be seen.  

Day 01: Kathmandu – Jiri by jeep/micro

Day 02: Jiri – Shivalaya

Day 03: Shivalaya – Bhandar

Day 04: Bhandar – Sete

Day 05: Sete – Junbensi

Day 06: Rest and visit Thupten Chholing Monastery 

Day 07: Junbensi – Nunthala

Day 08: Nunthala – Pang Gum camp

Day 09: Pang Gum – Najing Dingma camp

Day 10: Najing Dingma – Choelem Kharka camp

Day 11: Choelem Kharka – Khola Kharka camp

Day 12: Khola Kharka – Kothe

Day 13: Kothe – Thaknag

Day 14: Thaknag – Khare kuna Rest day for acclimatization (or hiking)

Day 15: Khare – Mera High camp

Day 16: Mera High – Summit Mera Peak 6450m. and descend to Khare

Day 17: Khare – Rest day at Khare

Day 18: Khare – Kothe

Day 19: Kothe – Zatra

Day 20: Zatra – Lukla

Day 21: Lukla – by flight back to Kathmandu

Book Now